Luxembourg overview

For more than a millennium the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has been a European affairs’ centre. Due to becoming one of the European Union’s founding members, Luxembourg’s traditional neutrality ended. Today, this tiny nation is one of Europe’s wealthiest countries, with a beautiful and vibrant medieval capital, charming countryside and hospitable people.

Some places to visit in Luxembourg

In 1994 by UNESCO declared as World Heritage site, Luxembourg City is divided into two parts. These are the city centre’s modern financial district, with its concentration of office complexes, and the picturesque Old Town, which is home to turrets, towers and little atmospheric cobblestone streets. Located in the north, the Ardennes region is perhaps Luxembourg’s most stunning, with towering castles, lush valleys, verdant plateaus and swift rivers.

Luxembourg City

Luxembourg City

Clervaux is the Ardennes region’s most accessible town and is most famous for housing the feudal castle and, positioned high in the dense woods above, the mysterious Benedictine abbey. The small village of Vianden has a distinctive 9th-century atmosphere and is home to a spectacular central chateau.

Luxembourg accommodations

Luxembourg City and the surrounding region as well represent a decent selection of accommodation establishments, which range from luxurious first-class hotels to intimate family-run country inns. The smaller urban hotel facilities tend to have reasonable rates but outstanding amenities. Whatever budget range visitors choose, they can be sure that accommodations will be neat and accompanied by helpful, friendly and welcoming staff members.

Luxembourg airports

Due to Luxembourg’s central position in northern Europe, travellers can reach the Grand Duchy by car, train and rail with ease. The country’s only international aviation hub, Luxembourg Findel Airport, is located within less than four miles of Luxembourg City and handles all air traffic flying to and out of the nation. Travellers can fly directly from Britain, but most other North American and European countries will need to transfer in Amsterdam or Brussels.